Have Leaders Forgotten How To Follow?

Much of Leonard Sweet’s early writings were influential with me. They resonated with where I was at that time with my walk with God. So when I heard that Len Sweet had a new book out on leadership I wanted to see what it was like. Sweet is if anything someone who looks at things from outside the box and challenges you to think. Here are some quotes from the book:

This is the great tragedy of the church in the last fifty years: We have changed Paul’s words, “Follow me as I follow Christ,”7 to “Follow me as I lead for Christ.” Over and over we hear, “What the church needs is more and better leaders,” or “Training leaders is job one.” Really? Jesus said, “Go and make disciples.” We stopped and built worship warehouses. Jesus said, “Follow me.” We heard, “Be a leader.” Paul said, “Do the work of an evangelist.” We’ve done the work of a marketer. Somewhere back in the past half century, we diagnosed the church’s problem as a crisis of leading, not a crisis of following. It’s as if we read Bonhoeffer’s Cost of Discipleship and decided we’d rather talk about something else entirely. In the past decade (or more), I bet you’ve attended your share of leadership conferences. Ever attend a followership conference?

Sweet, Leonard (2012-01-03). I AM A FOLLOWER: The Way, Truth, and Life of Following Jesus (p. 21). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

The cry for leadership is deafening amid our social disintegration, our moral disorientation. We have come to believe that we have a leadership crisis while all along we have been in a drought of discipleship. The Jesus paradox is that only Christians lead by following.

Sweet, Leonard (2012-01-03). I AM A FOLLOWER: The Way, Truth, and Life of Following Jesus (p. 21). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

Leave a Reply

