The Resurrection of Ministry: Serving In The Hope of The Risen Lord by Andrew Purves

John Piper wrote almost 30 years ago, “What I have learned from about twenty-years of serious reading is this. It is sentences that change my life, not books. What changes my life is some new glimpse of truth, some powerful challenge, some resolution to a long-standing dilemma, and these usually come concentrated in a sentence or two. I do not remember 99% of what I read, but if the 1% of each book or article I do remember is a life-changing insight, then I don’t begrudge the 99%.”

I can relate Piper’s quote to this book. I confess that I found it hard to get into this book. But when I did his main point was powerful; we need to move from ministering in Holy Saturday, to Ministering in Easter Morning and the Ascension. In other words, ministry and the Christian life has to be done in the power of the Resurrected AND Ascended Christ. His emphasis on the Ascension was eye opening, challenging and exciting. The work of the Church is not possible with JUST a resurrected Christ – the Church, we, NEED the Ascended Christ to minister, for without the ascended Christ we would not have the Spirit. His unpacking of this is excellent. Too many of us are ministering in Holy Saturday, without the power of the Spirit, relying on our own ability. For this reason the book is worth reading, especially by Pastors and other Ministers.


Leave a Reply

