Amazon Kindle

Just before the new year I was given a Kindle 2. I had mixed feelings about the Kindle. i love books. I love reading. I was skeptical that I, at least, would want to read anything through a Kindle.

Well, my family took a trip back to England on the 6th Jan, and so I felt that would an ideal time to test out the Kindle. So i loaded it up with some 40 books – everything from Spurgeon’s sermons, to theological books by Mark Dever, novels and Bibles.

The first thing I noticed was the ease with which you can buy and download books. The wireless feature allows you to search amazon – you find a book, press buy and within a minute or so it appears on your Kindle. A really cool feature is the text-to-read – you can have the kindle READ the book to you – with a choice of male or females voices!!

The handling of the Kindle grew on me – the functions are quickly grasped. It is light and easy to hold. As of today I have read four books on it.

And it has grown on me. In fact I really like it. It is amazing being able to put 50 plus books into your brief case – without strap breaking!!!!

Reading on a Kindle is more enjoyable than I thought. I have read four books on the trip to  and from England   – two of which were novels. I confess that i did enjoy reading on the kindle – it is easy to get enthralled in a book just as easily as if you are holding a physical book. You soon do not realize that you are reading from an e-reader.

The Kindle has really grown on me. It now goes everywhere with me. Will it replace physical books – no. But I think the Kindle is IDEAL for traveling, and for taking with you when hauling books around with you is not practical or convenient. Not everyone will like the Kindle or the idea of not holding a physical book – but from being a skeptic I am now an affirmed fan.

Leave a Reply

