The Search For God And Guinness by Stephen Mansfield

41TTGsEZD5L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_I confess that the package from Thomas Nelson sat on my desk for a few days. I had a tinge of regret in agreeing to review this book, which is why it remained unopened. However, once I opened up the book I was hooked.

Now, I knew Stephen Mansfield is a good writer. I have read his short biography of Winston Churchill, which was good. Also, I have met Stephen. I was on the management team at Derek Prince Ministries when we hired Stephen to write Derek’s biography.

And his writing skills are clear in this book. His style draws you into this story of the amazing Guinness family; the faith of Arthur Guinness, his legacy and how their faith translated into action. There are hardships; family struggles, disappointments and tragedy but you see God’s grace a work in this story, a story which is not that well known outside of Ireland.

Even the chapter on how beer was ‘discovered’ is so well told that you are fascinated. If only some of the major corporations in our day would take a fraction of the approach of Arthur Guinness and the example he left behind, the business world would be turned upside down and inside out.

A fun, informative, well written and enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

